Final local election seat decided by coin toss

Jane Robertson, Naell Crosby-Roe, Alice Balme, Stewart Burns, AJ Mason and Glyn Lewers after receiving the results of the coin toss.

With the final Wakatipu Ward seat decided by lot—a coin toss—this year’s local election results are finally confirmed for mayor, councillors and Wānaka Community Board.

Glyn Lewers and AJ Mason went right down to the wire as they both received 2,183 votes. The winner was decided by a coin toss, with Glyn Lewers winning on the day. 

The Mayor is Jim Boult, and the councillors are Craig Ferguson, Valerie Miller, Penny Clark, John MacDonald, Niki Gladding and Glyn Lewers in the Queenstown/Wakatipu Ward; Quentin Smith, Calum MacLeod and Niamh Shaw in the Wānaka Ward; and Heath Copland in Arrowtown. 

The Wānaka Community Board members are Barry Bruce, Chris Hadfield, Ed Taylor and Jude Battson. 

The voter return was 49.05 percent, which is 11,522 votes. 

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now